Sigma Tau Delta Journal Award Winners

Please join us in congratulating the Sigma Tau Delta 2023 Journal Award Recipients. The Sigma Tau Delta journals publish annually the best writing and criticism of undergraduate and graduate active chapter members of the Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society.

These journals are refereed, with jurors from across the country selecting those members to be published. The journals have had illustrious head judges including: Jane Brox, Henri Cole, Jim Daniels, W. D. Earhardt, CJ Hribal, Kyoko Mori, Lisa Russ Spaar, and Mako Yoshikawa, to name a few.

The best writing is chosen, from around 1,000 submissions, for publication. Not only do these publications go to chapters worldwide, but they also honor the best writing in each category, with six awards totaling $2,500. As of 2016, the Sigma Tau Delta journals are catalogued with the Library of Congress. There is also an annual reading at the international convention by any of the published writers in attendance.

2023 Journal Winners

Frederic Fadner Critical Essay Award ($500)
Mía Zendejas
“But I am. Soy dominicano. Dominicano soy’: Code-switching in The Brief Maravillosa Vida of Oscar Wao
Pepperdine University (CA)
Eta Psi Chapter

Eleanor B. North Poetry Award ($500)
Sofia Escobar
Hartwick College (NY)
Gamma Pi Chapter

E. Nelson James Poetry Award ($500)
Alexandra Rye
“Waltz of the Bees”
Oakland University (MI)
Alpha Iota Eta Chapter

Herbert Hughes Short Story Award ($500)
Grace Worwa
Oakland University (MI)
Alpha Iota Eta Chapter

Elizabeth Holtze Creative Nonfiction Award ($500)
Kostandi Stephenson
“No Name”
Western Michigan University (MI)
Alpha Nu Pi Chapter

While you’re waiting for the 2023 journals to be released early next year, check out the 2022 journal award winners’ submissions. Claim your copy of the 2022 Sigma Tau Delta Journals now!

More from Footnotes: December 13, 2022

Updated Internship Application Deadlines
Congratulations Fall Scholarship and Grant Recipients
2023 Convention Update
Buy Sigma Tau Delta Merchandise
Holiday Closure

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply